Ascend – Amanda Hocking

Ascend: Book Three in the Trylle Trilogy**Ascend is the third book in the series so this review contains unavoidable spoilers**

What will she give up for those she loves?

Ascend is the final book in the Tryelle trilogy. I had really enjoyed the others in the series, and I was looking forward to concluding the story.

Ascend continued the trilogy and kept with the storyline. I began reading Ascend immediately after finishing Torn so to me the books flowed well.

During this book Wendy gets married to Tove, and Loki once more enters her life. I was glad that Loki re-entered the series, as he was definitely my favourite character!

After a lot of tension and planning, the fight between Father and Daughter finally ends.

A main theme in this book was standing up for your beliefs, especially by Wendy. I really respect Wendy as she always stood up for her friends and what she believed to be right.

For me, Wendy made the right decisions, and the ending was good. However, the concluding chapter of Ascend would have left me disappointed if it wasn’t for the short story “Ever After” which was included in the edition I read. This short story was set a year later and showed how all the characters lives had changed. This is the true ending of the book!

Although, I am sad that I won’t be able to read about these characters again, I am also happy with the way the series concluded.

Now, I can’t wait to read Amanda Hocking’s new book Wake, I’ve read the first chapter and it was has definitely left me wanting more!

I would definitely recommend the book, and indeed the series to all! The series is aimed at teenage girls, although anybody with a love of YA Romance should definitely read these books!

Leave a Reply

