The Catastrophic History of You and Me – Jess Rothenberg

Dying of a broken heart is just the beginning.

I saw this book on my friend’s bookshelf and immediately knew it was my next read! My friend said it was great and I couldn’t wait to try it for myself!

It didn’t disappoint!

The book begins with Brie watching her funeral, an experience its hard to imagine  Brie’s death is the “trigger” for the book, with the story line following her new “life” in heaven. Brie blames her ex-boyfriend for her death, as she died due to a broken heart.

During the book, Brie passes through the 5 stages of death, under the watchful eye of Patrick (who I loved throughout the book). Brie grew a lot over the book, at some points her actions annoyed me as I thought she was particularly mean, but I suppose these were the things that she learnt from.

I thought the format of the book was interesting, with Brie living her “death” and experiencing flashbacks to when she was alive, this was an original concept which worked for me.

I also thought the chapter titles were good choices, with each being a song lyric. The song was referenced in the chapter, or the lyric was obviously related to the events.

All in all, a great book I would definitely recommend to everyone! It was a great Young Adult Romance novel with a great paranormal twist.

I can’t wait to read more books by Ruth Rothenberg!

Oh and finally I want to say thanks to my friend for letting me borrow her book! 😉

Leave a Reply

