Paper Towns – John Green

Who is the real Margo?

My final John Green book… Having read all of his other books, I knew I had to complete the ‘series’.

Paper Towns is about Quentin “Q” Jacobsen and Margo Roth Spiegelman and their unique relationship.

The book begins with a flashback, showing the close friendship, nine year old Quentin and Margo shared, due to them being next door neighbours.

The flashbacks finishes and returns to present day in which Q and Margo have grown distant – they are still next door neighbours but mix with different crowds.

However, this all unexpectedly changes one day when Margo knocks on Q’s window in the middle of the night – the beginning of a life changing adventure. Together they spend the night committing daring deeds and getting revenge.

Q thinks this has changed their relationship and can’t wait to experience the last of his school days with Margo. Yet, the next day, Margo is missing and Q must follow her clues to find her…

This book strongly reminded me of Looking For Alaska however I still thoroughly enjoyed it. The plots were similar and the characters had the same basic traits, however there were also major differences between the two. Margo and Alaska (from Looking For Alaska) are similar personalities and as these were my least favourite characters from both books respectively, this was slightly annoying.

Q was the most likeable character and he was also easy to relate to. Margo was the focus of the novel, and as with all John Green novels, she was highly intelligent and independent, however she was also extremely selfish and self absorbed which annoyed me.

Overall, I really enjoyed Paper Towns however I would have preferred a plot line which differed more from Looking For Alaska. I would recommend the book, especially to those who enjoyed Looking For Alaska. I am glad I have read all of John Green’s books as I enjoyed them all yet I do feel that his later books are the better books.

Leave a Reply

